Virtual Cards for Pika Labs: Fees, KYC and Issuer Terms
Most cards that fail at Pika are not out of money. They fail a check the merchant runs before the charge: the billing country, the postal code, or a 3-D Secure challenge that never completes. Below is how that works for Pika, plus the cards whose published terms fit it.
Bleap is the closest fit on published terms (3-D Secure is documented, so a step-up challenge can finish instead of timing out). Bybit is the fallback if that issuer will not take you, and Fiat24 is the cheaper-to-fund option if you expect several charges a month.
Pika: what lands on the card, and when
Pika charges a monthly credit plan in USD, with the allowance resetting each cycle and no metered overage.
The published price is $8–$70/mo by plan. Treat that as the figure the card has to clear, not the figure you fund: tax, a verification hold or a currency conversion can push the actual authorisation above it.
Why a card that works elsewhere fails here
Small monthly amounts sit in the range issuers sometimes treat as card-testing. A card that has already cleared a larger charge elsewhere is a better first card here than a freshly issued one.
- The card's issuing country does not match the country on the account. The BIN gives it away before any charge is attempted.
- The billing address differs from the issuer's record by a house number or a ZIP digit, and AVS fails on the comparison.
- The card cannot take a merchant-initiated renewal: it passes the first charge and fails the one four weeks later.
- The card expires before the next renewal date, and the merchant keeps trying the old number.
- The issuer blocks the merchant category, or treats a recurring card-not-present charge as suspicious by default.
- The balance covers the headline amount but not that amount plus tax and a temporary hold.
The five checks the subscription checkout runs
| What is checked | How it works here | What to pick |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing country vs account country | The card's BIN country is compared with the region your account is registered in; a mismatch is refused before any charge. | A card whose billing country matches the account's region |
| 3-D Secure | A step-up challenge is issued on first use in most regions; a card that cannot complete it fails as a decline. | Documented 3-D Secure support, tested with a small charge first |
| Recurring authorisation | The renewal is merchant-initiated with no cardholder present. | An issuer that permits recurring card-not-present charges |
| Billing address / AVS | The postal code you type is checked against the issuer's records. | The address printed in the card dashboard, pasted not retyped |
| Currency and FX | The charge is in USD; a non-USD card converts at the issuer's rate. | A USD balance, or a card with a published FX markup under 2% |
Not every check runs on every attempt. Pika applies them in the order its processor decides, which is why the same card can pass one day and fail the next after an issuer-side change.
Three cards that fit this checkout
Chosen by the parameters that decide Pika — country matching, step-up support, recurring behaviour and the cost of keeping the card funded — not by the order they appear in a directory.
1. Bleap — 8.8/10
What earns Bleap the slot is the fee shape rather than the headline score: no creation fee is published and the top-up is 0%, so the only cost is what you leave on the card. That suits a monthly charge better than a card built for one-off purchases.
Works for this checkout
- 3-D Secure is documented, so a step-up challenge can finish instead of timing out
- issuer records a billing address in EEA / LatAm
What it costs you
- full identity documents at signup
2. Bybit — 8.6/10
Bybit sits second of the three on fit for this checkout, with a catalogue rating of 8.6/10. On cost, no creation fee is published, and the top-up is quoted as 0.9% crypto conversion fee per transaction.
Works for this checkout
- 3-D Secure is documented, so a step-up challenge can finish instead of timing out
- a US billing address can be recorded against the card
What it costs you
- full identity documents at signup
3. Fiat24 — 8.8/10
Fiat24 scores 8.8/10 in the catalogue and fits on the parameters that decide this checkout. In fee terms, no creation fee is published, and the top-up is quoted as 1%.
Works for this checkout
- 3-D Secure is documented, so a step-up challenge can finish instead of timing out
- a US billing address can be recorded against the card
What it costs you
- ID required at signup, so not anonymous
- FX costs 1-1.5% on non-dollar charges
The shortlist, side by side
| # | Card / issuer | KYC | Creation fee | Top-up | FX | 3DS | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bleap | Yes | Free | 0% | 0% | 3DS | 8.8/10 |
| 2 | Bybit | Yes (KYC Level 2: govt ID + proof… | Free virtual | 0.9% crypto conversion fee per… | EEA 0.5% on top of Mastercard rate | 3DS | 8.6/10 |
| 3 | Fiat24 | Yes (18+, biometric ID + GPS +… | Free | 1% | 1-1.5% | 3DS | 8.8/10 |
| 4 | SwissBorg Card | Yes | $0 | 0% | No separate FX fee | 3DS | 9.5/10 |
| 5 | COCA | No (basic) / Yes (advanced) | Free virtual | 0% top-up | 0% | 3DS | 9.1/10 |
| 6 | Jupiter Global | Yes (full KYC via SumSub; ID +… | $0 | 0% | 0% USD spend | 3DS | 9.0/10 |
| 7 | Grey | Yes (KYC verification) | $4 (Mastercard) / $5 (Visa) one-time… | 0% | 0% USD spend from USD balance | 3DS | 8.7/10 |
| 8 | Nexo | Yes (Full KYC: ID + proof of… | 0 | 0 | 0.2% (EEA/UK weekday), 0.7% (EEA… | 3DS | 9.0/10 |
Every figure is the issuer's own published term, converted where necessary and re-checked monthly. Where a cell says “not disclosed”, the issuer does not publish it — that is different from zero.
What a year on this checkout costs
Modelled on $96 of charges over twelve months, using each issuer's published creation fee, monthly fee, top-up rate and FX markup. Merchant tax is excluded because it depends on your address.
| Card | Creation | Monthly fees | Top-up on $96 | FX on $96 | 12-month total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bleap | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Bybit | $0 | $0 | $0.86 | $0.48 | $1.34 |
| Fiat24 | $0 | $0 | $0.96 | $1.44 | $2.40 |
Percentages apply to the amount you move onto the card, so a card with a 3% top-up costs more than a card with a monthly fee when the annual spend is small. The total excludes anything the merchant adds in tax.
Paying Pika with a virtual card, step by step
- 1
Match the card's country to the account
Register in the country whose billing address you can document. Pika compares the card's BIN country with the account region, and no amount of address editing fixes a mismatch at that level.
- 2
Issue the card and cap it
Create the card and set a limit that covers the charge plus a buffer. A limit pinned to the exact plan price declines the moment tax or a verification hold is added.
- 3
Fund above the charge
Fund above the charge rather than at it. Fifteen to twenty per cent headroom absorbs the monthly amount, tax and any temporary authorisation without a second top-up.
- 4
Paste the billing address
Use the issuer's address, character for character. AVS compares what you type with what the issuer holds, and a transposed digit fails the check.
- 5
Complete the challenge
A challenge that times out counts as a decline, and the retry starts from a worse risk position. Keep the issuer app or SMS route open before you submit.
- 6
Confirm the charge and leave headroom
Check the transaction in the issuer's app, then pre-fund the next charge. The renewal is the test that matters, not the first payment.
If it still fails
Work down this list in order. Each row is a different check, so changing the card before you know which one failed usually repeats the same decline on a new BIN.
| What you see | What it means here | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Generic decline | The authorisation came back refused with no reason code. Here that usually means the card's country or the billing address did not match, not that the balance was short. | Do not resubmit immediately. Fix the country and the address first, then make one clean attempt. |
| Not enough funds | The amount requested was higher than what was available, because tax and a small verification hold were added to the plan price. | Add 15–20% headroom and retry once; repeated attempts on a short balance can themselves trigger a block. |
| ZIP or address mismatch | The postal code did not match the issuer's record for that card. | Paste the address exactly as the issuer displays it, including the apartment or suite line if there is one. |
| Authentication failed | The step-up challenge started but did not finish — a blocked window, a stale phone number, or an unread one-time code. | Retry in a private window with popups allowed, and confirm the contact route on the card is current. |
| Card type not accepted | The BIN is recognised as prepaid, or issued in a country this checkout will not take. | Move to a debit or credit BIN from an accepted country rather than trying the same card again. |
| Saved card stopped working | The merchant is still pointing at a card you replaced, froze or let expire. | Re-add the card, set it as default, then remove the old record so it cannot be retried. |
What a failed payment actually costs you
On a subscription checkout the plan drops back to the free tier at the end of the grace period, and the account keeps its history, so recovering is a matter of re-entering a card that works. The cost is the days without access plus any annual discount you lose by re-subscribing.
That is why the buffer matters more than the fee. A card that saves 1% on top-up but fails the renewal costs more than a card that charges 2% and clears every cycle.
Questions we get asked
Yes, if the card matches the account's country and can complete a step-up challenge. Bleap is the closest fit on published terms, with Bybit as the fallback. The failure people report is rarely a balance problem; it is a country or address check.
Because Pika runs its own checks before the charge: the card's issuing country against the account's region, the postal code against the issuer's records, and a 3-D Secure challenge where the region requires one. A card that works at a domestic merchant can still fail all three.
On a $8–$70/mo by plan plan, the cheapest is the one with the lowest top-up and FX load rather than the lowest creation fee. For Bleap, no creation fee is published and the top-up is 0%, so the only cost is what you leave on the card. Run the same spend through two issuers before deciding; the fee that dominates is usually the top-up.
Prepaid instruments are the first thing this kind of checkout screens out. Even when a prepaid card is accepted, it usually cannot take the renewal, so it buys one cycle rather than a subscription.
Usually not for the account's primary currency. The card's BIN country is compared with the account region, and a mismatch is refused before the charge. If you move country, change the account region first, then the card.
The plan usually stays active for a short grace period, then pauses. Pika retries once or twice, so a card that is topped up within a few days can recover the subscription without losing the term. Leaving a balance on the card is cheaper than re-subscribing.
Other ways to pay Pika
A virtual card is one path. These are the others, and each has a different failure mode.
- Annual plan where offered
- a mid tier
- in-app purchase if available
How the data on this page is built
Figures come from issuer pricing pages and published merchant-support lists, re-checked monthly. Where a term is unpublished, the table says “not disclosed” rather than filling the gap with an estimate. The full protocol is on the methodology page. The full protocol, including how declines are recorded, is on the methodology page.
Fees, limits and terms quoted on this page are as published by the issuer and can change at any time — verify with the issuer before applying.