Or browse the full BIN directory →

Brand profile · Fintech Wallet

Grey

By the VCCFinder editorial & research team·Reference for virtual card shoppers·Last reviewed October 2026·About our testing

Grey is a fintech wallet issued on Mastercard, rated 8.7/10 in our latest review. Below: what it costs and what it demands, the tiers the issuer publishes, and how the card cleared our live checkouts.

8.7rating /10
ID + proofKYC
Mastercardnetwork
What we would lead with

Grey is the strongest fit for all-rounder and ad spend, and asks for ID + proof at signup — we carry it at medium risk. Treat the fee rows as the deciding factor: a card that clears reliably but charges on every top-up costs more than its rating suggests.

Profile

Issuer / categoryGrey · Fintech Wallet
Official sitehttps://grey.co
Best forAll-rounder · Ad spend
NetworkMastercard
Rating8.7/10 (4.5★, 276 data points)
Data qualityverified

Costs and fees

Card creation fee$4 (Mastercard) / $5 (Visa) one-time creation
Monthly / annual feeFree (no monthly maintenance fee)
Top-up (deposit) fee0% (no funding fee); 1% NGN→USD conversion (capped $6)
FX / conversion fee0% USD spend from USD balance; 2% + $0.50 cross-border non-USD

Verification and risk

KYC requiredYes (KYC verification)
Risk levelMedium
AVS checkYes
3-D SecureYes

Funding and limits

Crypto top-upNo
Bank transferYes
Alipay / WeChat PayNo
Cards per accountNot specified (up to $10k/day spend)

Billing

Billing addressPersonal
Billing countryNigeria, Kenya, Ghana, Morocco + UK residents (Africa-focused)

Platform compatibility

ChatGPTYes
ClaudeYes
MidjourneyYes
Netflix / SpotifyYes
App Store / Google PlayYes (Apple/Google Pay)
Meta / Google AdsYes
AI tools notedYes

How it performed in our tests

BIN rangeNetworkIssuing countryTypeChargesClearedClear rate
238702MastercardNigeriaDebit24217371.5%

We logged 173 cleared charges out of 242 attempts on 1 documented range for this brand. Counts include renewals, not just first charges.

Where to go next

Checkout guides built around this card

Category guides

Issuing country

Other Mastercard virtual cards

Frequently asked

What does Grey cost to run?

The cost lines stack like this: issuing it costs $4 (Mastercard) / $5 (Visa) one-time creation; there is no monthly fee on the entry tier; top-ups cost 0% (no funding fee); 1% NGN→USD conversion (capped $6); conversion is priced at 0% USD spend from USD balance; 2% + $0.50 cross-border non-USD. Cash-out costs are what compound here, so weigh the recurring lines above the one-off fee.

Do I need to verify my identity for Grey?

Grey asks for ID + proof at signup. The check runs once when the account opens, not on each charge, and the issuer's own wording is: Yes (KYC verification)

How can I fund Grey?

You can fund it with bank transfer. Pick the one you can top up cheaply and repeatedly, because the load fee is charged every time.

Which billing address does Grey need?

Setting it up: the billing address type is Personal; cards are issued against Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana, Morocco + UK residents (Africa-focused); an AVS check is applied. Copy the address the issuer generates rather than retyping it. A transposed digit is the most common reason a working range starts failing.

Does Grey work for subscriptions and AI tools?

We recorded successful charges for ChatGPT, Claude, Midjourney, Netflix and Spotify, the App Store and Google Play, Meta and Google Ads. Where a card passes on one merchant and fails on another, the difference is usually the processor and the 3-D Secure setting rather than the card itself.

Will Grey trigger 3-D Secure?

Yes. Grey supports 3-D Secure, so expect a step-up prompt on larger or first-time charges. An OTP you can complete is fine; a challenge that never arrives is what kills the order, so keep the issuer app open at checkout.

How many cards can I open with Grey?

The issuer allows Not specified (up to $10k/day spend). Multiple numbers under one account is the practical pattern here: one per merchant, so a single block does not take the rest of your billing down with it.

How VCCFinder tests

VCCFinder buys cards at retail and charges them on live checkouts, then publishes the clear rate and decline reasons next to each range. Where a card declined, the reason sits on its BIN page rather than in a footnote here.

Read the full test protocol.