Open the full card finder → · Or look up a BIN range →

8 issuers · 9 ranges documented · Last reviewed November 2026

Best India virtual credit cards for international shopping

By Height Gao, VCCFinder Editorial Lead·Country guide: regulation, funding rails and decline patterns·About our methodology

8 India issuers, compared on creation cost, reload cost and how much identity they ask for before the card exists. 9 ranges are on file, and the ranking below is rebuilt from them rather than from the issuers' marketing pages.

8issuers tracked
9ranges documented
0no-KYC options
0crypto-funded
Two issuers can quote the same headline fee and cost different amounts, because the top-up is charged every time you reload and the creation fee only once. The table below keeps both columns for that reason.
Quick verdict

Niyo Global takes the top slot at 8.6/10. No creation fee is published and no FX markup is published. ICICI Pockets is the fallback when a merchant refuses the first range, and it asks for minimal verification at signup.

How India issuance changes the checkout

India is not one market so much as a stack of them: a licence regime, a settlement currency and a set of merchant expectations that all push on the same authorisation. Two different products share the name: domestic PPIs and internationally enabled cards behave nothing alike. This page ranks the 8 issuers that actually issue a card in INR, in the order their published terms deserve for cross-border shopping rather than for domestic spending.

An IN BIN is required by domestic merchants and by billers that will not accept a foreign card, and RuPay appears on the domestic ranges alongside Visa and Mastercard. This is why the right range here can beat a higher-scoring card issued somewhere else: it removes a check that no amount of funding can satisfy.

Licensing sits with the Reserve Bank of India, and the issuers are RBI-licensed banks, non-bank PPI issuers and co-branded programmes under the co-branding rules. Verification depth follows from that, not from how strict a particular brand feels like being.

The 8 cards worth opening

Ordered by composite fit for cross-border shopping. Fee cells show the issuer's published term; hover for the full wording, including plan tiers and BIN-specific rates.

#Card / IssuerKYCCard creation fee Monthly feeTop-up feeFX feeRating
1
Niyo Global
Visa (Visa Signature debit · DCB B All-rounder · Ad spend
ID + proof Free (nil joining/renewal) Free (nil annual fee) N/A 0% forex markup ★★★★★ 8.6/10 Get card
2
ICICI Pockets
Visa Streaming · App Store / Play
Minimal KYC None (free virtual card) Not disclosed by issuer Not disclosed by issuer Not disclosed by issuer ★★★★★ 8.1/10 Get card
3
FreeCharge Go
Mastercard App Store / Play · Free issuance
ID + proof Free Free Not disclosed by issuer Not disclosed by issuer ★★★★★ 7.7/10 Get card
4
OmniCard
RuPay · Mastercard App Store / Play
ID + proof ₹99 - ₹249 Free Not disclosed by issuer Not disclosed by issuer ★★★★★ 7.4/10 Get card
5
Kotak Netc@rd
Visa Ad spend · App Store / Play
ID + proof Free Free Not disclosed by issuer Not disclosed by issuer ★★★★★ 6.9/10 Get card
6
Happay
Visa · Mastercard App Store / Play
ID + proof Not disclosed by issuer Free Not disclosed by issuer 1%+GST (EPIC forex) ★★★★★ 6.6/10 Get card
7
Karbon Business
Visa · Mastercard App Store / Play
ID + proof Not disclosed by issuer Free (card) Not disclosed by issuer ~1.5%+GST (forex markup) ★★★★★ 6.4/10 Get card
8
RazorpayX
Visa App Store / Play
ID + proof ₹1 ₹1 Not disclosed by issuer 2.5% ★★★★★ 6.2/10 Get card

Methodology: 9 ranges are on file for India, each tied to the issuer's published schedule rather than to a reseller's summary. Fees, KYC depth and documented coverage produce the order above; the methodology page sets out the weights.

Top 3 in India

The three highest-scoring issuers, with the fee and verification rows behind the ranking and the case against each one. The full table above carries the same numbers.

1

Niyo Global

Visa (Visa Signature debit · DCB B · All-rounder · Ad spend

Why it ranks here: Niyo Global scores 8.6/10 and clears the checks this market runs. In fee terms, no creation fee is published and no FX markup is published.

Ad platforms re-authorise whenever the spend threshold is crossed, which can be several times a week. A card that clears the first charge is only useful if it clears the tenth. Niyo Global is documented for that pattern: Visa (Visa Signature debit · DCB B range, an ID and proof of address, and a top-up quoted at N/A.

What to watch: The composite sits below the leaders, and the gap is in documented coverage rather than in price. The range is issued through a programme rather than by a bank, so support runs through the programme.

Creation
Free (nil joining/renewal)
Monthly
Free (nil annual fee)
Top-up
N/A
FX
0% forex markup
KYC
ID + proof
2

ICICI Pockets

Visa · Streaming · App Store / Play

Why it ranks here: Ranked on the terms that decide a INR card rather than on brand recognition: ICICI Pockets at 8.1/10, where no creation fee is published, the top-up is quoted at Not disclosed by issuer and FX is not published.

The monthly amount is small enough that the issuer's reload fee dominates the true cost, and the country check dominates the failure rate. ICICI Pockets is documented for that pattern: Visa range, minimal verification, and a top-up quoted at Not disclosed by issuer.

What to watch: The monthly line (Not disclosed by issuer) runs whether or not you spend. FX is not published, so a non-dollar charge is an unknown cost until the statement lands.

Creation
None (free virtual card)
Monthly
Not disclosed by issuer
Top-up
Not disclosed by issuer
FX
Not disclosed by issuer
KYC
Minimal KYC
3

FreeCharge Go

Mastercard · App Store / Play · Free issuance

Why it ranks here: FreeCharge Go scores 7.7/10 and clears the checks this market runs. In fee terms, no creation fee is published, the top-up is quoted at Not disclosed by issuer and FX is not published.

The store checks the BIN country at the point of purchase, and a mismatch shows up as a generic refusal rather than as a country error. FreeCharge Go is documented for that pattern: Mastercard range, an ID and proof of address, and a top-up quoted at Not disclosed by issuer.

What to watch: FX is not published, so a non-dollar charge is an unknown cost until the statement lands. The composite sits below the leaders, and the gap is in documented coverage rather than in price.

Creation
Free
Monthly
Free
Top-up
Not disclosed by issuer
FX
Not disclosed by issuer
KYC
ID + proof

What the checkout checks, in order

Every decline in this market traces back to one of these five checks. They run before the merchant looks at your balance, so a well-funded card can still fail at step one.

CheckWhat the merchant seesWhat it means for your card
Issuing country (BIN)Every card number starts with a country prefix; the gateway reads it and stops if it disagrees with the account region.An IN range settles in the local currency and passes the merchant's country check, which is the first thing it runs.
Billing address (AVS)AVS compares what you type with the record attached to the card, which is not always your real address.The string has to match exactly: Indian addresses verify on the six-digit PIN code, and stricter gateways also check that the state name matches the PIN's state.
Authenticationthe RBI mandates an additional factor of authentication for domestic card-not-present payments, so 3-D Secure is effectively universal.A challenge that is abandoned or timed out is recorded as a decline, and the retry starts from a worse risk position.
Card typeThe range identifies the product as debit, credit or prepaid, and a growing number of billers accept only the first two.Retrying cannot change the card type. Moving to a debit range from the same issuer is the only fix.
Limit and balanceTwo numbers are checked: the remaining balance and the issuer's per-transaction ceiling, both after tax and holds.A limit set to the advertised price fails the moment tax is added, which is the usual avoidable decline here.

What a year on these cards costs

One year of ordinary use, priced with the issuers' own numbers. The point of the table is that a cheap creation fee tells you almost nothing about the annual cost.

Cost lineNiyo GlobalICICI PocketsFreeCharge Go
Creation feeFree (nil joining/renewal)None (free virtual card)Free
Monthly feeFree (nil annual fee)Not disclosed by issuerFree
Top-upN/ANot disclosed by issuerNot disclosed by issuer
FX0% forex markupNot disclosed by issuerNot disclosed by issuer

Niyo Global does not publish a percentage for reloads, so the annual cost depends on the plan tier rather than on spend. That is the one case where a flat fee is easier to budget.

A dash means the issuer does not publish the figure, which is different from charging nothing. Budget on the published lines and treat the rest as unknown.

Filling the billing address (AVS)

The billing address on a card issued here is a data field, not a fact about you. What matters is that the string you enter at checkout is identical to the string the issuer holds.

Regulation, funding rails and the currency question

The licensing regime here is the Reserve Bank of India, and the issuers are RBI-licensed banks, non-bank PPI issuers and co-branded programmes under the co-branding rules. That matters at the point of a dispute: the entity that answers is the licence holder, not the brand on the card.

Money arrives through UPI, IMPS and NEFT for funding. Most balances in this market are funded by UPI or bank transfer, with wallet funding on the prepaid programmes, and the funding route decides how fast a replacement card can be loaded after a decline.

On tax: GST at 18% applies to digital services. That line is added by the merchant at checkout, so the amount the card has to cover is usually higher than the advertised price — the single most common reason a card funded to the exact amount fails.

Currency is the quiet cost. These ranges settle in INR, and a charge priced in another currency picks up the issuer's conversion before it ever reaches your statement. A prepaid PPI that cannot be used internationally. Many RBI-licensed wallets are domestic-only until the issuer enables cross-border use on that specific card.

9 of our 423 tracked ranges are India-issued; the cards behind them run on 5 Visa and 4 Mastercard.

How to pick one, in order

  1. Start with the country pair, not the price. Decide which country's billing address you can document, then pick a range from that country. An IN BIN is required by domestic merchants and by billers that will not accept a foreign card, and RuPay appears on the domestic ranges alongside Visa and Mastercard
  2. Match the card type to the merchant. Ad platforms and cloud billers are the strictest about prepaid ranges; subscription services care more about the country than the type.
  3. Add up the reload, not the creation fee. A card that costs $1 to open and 3% to reload costs more than a free one at 1% after INR 1,000 of spend. The reload is the line that repeats.
  4. Check what the issuer publishes about FX. An unpublished FX markup is not zero. If the merchant bills in another currency, that becomes the largest line on the statement.
  5. Test on the smallest charge first. A $5 top-up or a low-value purchase tells you whether the country, address and authentication all pass before a renewal depends on it.
  6. Keep two ranges open. The issuers in India do not share infrastructure, so a merchant that refuses one range usually accepts another. A single card is a single point of failure.

Where these cards clear checkouts

Each guide below is built from the same record as this page. Where a India range is flagged as working, the merchant guide says so, and the two pages link to each other.

BIN ranges issued in India

Ranges are listed by prefix rather than by issuer, because the same issuer can hold several and they do not all behave the same way.

Want a different network or a specific prefix? Search the full set of 423 ranges:

Declines in India, decoded

Declines are diagnostic. Each of these points at a specific check from the table above, and three of the six are fixed without touching the balance.

MessageWhat it usually means hereWhat to do
Generic declineNo reason code came back, which in this market usually means the country pair failed rather than the balance.Fix country and address, then make one clean attempt instead of several.
Not enough fundsTax and a small verification hold pushed the total above the balance.Fund 15–20% above the charge and retry once.
ZIP or address mismatchAVS compared the numeric part of the address and the postal code, and one of them differed.Use the issuer's address exactly, not a reformatted version of it.
3-D Secure loopThe challenge either never appeared or timed out, and the attempt was logged as a decline.Disable popup blockers, retry in a private window, verify the card's phone or email.
Card not supportedThis range is prepaid or issued where the merchant does not accept cards from.Switch to a debit or credit range from an accepted country; a bigger balance will not help.
Saved card stopped workingThe card on file was replaced or expired and the merchant has not picked up the new details.Re-add it and delete the old record, then retry from a fresh checkout.

Head to heads involving these cards

What changed in the November 2026 pass

Nothing here is carried over on trust: every fee row is re-read from the issuer's schedule, and ranges that stop clearing leave the table. What changed this month:

Questions we get asked

Niyo Global is the strongest all-rounder among the 8 India-issued cards we track, at 8.6 out of 10, where no creation fee is published and no FX markup is published. The table above is the full ranked set, ordered on fees, documented coverage and how much verification each issuer asks for.

Reload costs are not published as a percentage by most issuers here, so the annual cost depends on the plan tier rather than on spend.

Not necessarily local, but it has to be the issuer's. Indian addresses verify on the six-digit PIN code, and stricter gateways also check that the state name matches the PIN's state.

None of the 8 cards on this table is listed as no-KYC. Every issuer here asks for an identity document, which is also why the decline rate on document-checked ranges is lower.

Licensing sits with the Reserve Bank of India. What decides the outcome at checkout is narrower: An IN BIN is required by domestic merchants and by billers that will not accept a foreign card, and RuPay appears on the domestic ranges alongside Visa and Mastercard.

Move to another range rather than retrying the same card. The ranges in this market do not share infrastructure, so a merchant that refuses one prefix often accepts the next one, and repeated attempts on a single BIN are what trigger issuer-side blocks.

Other country guides

All 23 country guides →

Fees, limits and terms quoted on this page are as published by the issuer and can change at any time — verify with the issuer before applying.