Open the full card finder → · Or look up a BIN range →

10 issuers · 53 ranges documented · Last reviewed November 2026

Best Nigeria virtual credit cards for international shopping

By Height Gao, VCCFinder Editorial Lead·Country guide: regulation, funding rails and decline patterns·About our methodology

The short version of the November pass: 10 issuers issuing NGN cards, the fee rows that separate them, and the decline patterns this market keeps producing. 53 ranges are documented behind these entries.

10issuers tracked
53ranges documented
0no-KYC options
3crypto-funded
The score is a composite, not a verdict: fees, documented NGN coverage and verification depth all move it. A card two places lower that skips the document upload you cannot complete is usually the one that ends up being used.
Quick verdict

Grey takes the top slot at 8.9/10. The card costs $4 to create, the top-up is 0% and no FX markup is published. Geegpay is the fallback when a merchant refuses the first range, and it asks for an ID and proof of address at signup.

How Nigeria issuance changes the checkout

Buying online from Nigeria with a card issued somewhere else works until it does not. The failure is rarely about money: it is the issuing country, the address format and the authentication step that decide it. FX availability, not the fee schedule, is what decides whether a Nigerian card clears an international charge. The ranking below is built on those three things before price.

A dollar-denominated virtual card is the practical way to pay international billers, because naira cards are limited by FX availability rather than by balance. This is why the right range here can beat a higher-scoring card issued somewhere else: it removes a check that no amount of funding can satisfy.

Licensing sits with the Central Bank of Nigeria, and the issuers are CBN-licensed banks, mobile money operators and fintech issuers. Verification depth follows from that, not from how strict a particular brand feels like being.

The 10 cards worth opening

The 10 rows below are the whole ranked set. Every fee cell reproduces the issuer's own wording, and the rating column is the same one used elsewhere on the site, so the numbers agree across pages.

#Card / IssuerKYCCard creation fee Monthly feeTop-up feeFX feeRating
1
Grey
Mastercard (Virtual USD card); als All-rounder · Ad spend
ID + proof $4 Free 0% (no funding fee) 0% USD spend from USD ★★★★★ 8.9/10 Get card
2
Geegpay
Visa · Mastercard (user selects) General use
ID + proof $3 (one-time) Not disclosed by issuer 0.8% USD deposit Low market-linked FX ★★★★★ 8.4/10 Get card
3
Timon Ace
Visa Ad spend · AI subscriptions
ID + proof $5 Free Not disclosed by issuer 2% + $0.50 per ★★★★★ 8.1/10 Get card
4
Zole
Mastercard General use
ID + proof $2 Free 0% (free funding) 0.5% per transaction ★★★★★ 7.8/10 Get card
5
Fundall
Mastercard · Visa Free issuance
ID + proof Free (first card) Free 1% of amount funded 1% international ★★★★★ 7.6/10 Get card
6
Risevest
Mastercard · Visa (USD) Streaming
ID + proof $1 $1/month $1 flat per funding 1% transaction fee (min $1 ★★★★★ 7.3/10 Get card
7
ComePay
Visa Streaming · App Store / Play
ID + proof Naira virtual NG₦0 Free Not disclosed by issuer Naira to USD at interbank ★★★★★ 7.1/10 Get card
8
Klasha
Visa Streaming
ID + proof $2 Free 0% (wallet funding) Competitive real-time rate ★★★★★ 6.9/10 Get card
9
Paga
Visa Streaming · App Store / Play
ID + proof $3.76 + VAT $1.08 (USD card 1.2% Not disclosed by issuer ★★★★★ 6.7/10 Get card
10
UBA Dollar Prepaid Card
Visa (USD) Ad spend · Streaming
ID + proof $3.39 (VAT inclusive) $20/year annual 1.5% OCT inflow 0% on POS/Internet ★★★★★ 6.5/10 Get card

Methodology: 53 ranges are on file for Nigeria, each tied to the issuer's published schedule rather than to a reseller's summary. Fees, KYC depth and documented coverage produce the order above; the methodology page sets out the weights.

Top 3 in Nigeria

The three highest-scoring issuers, with the fee and verification rows behind the ranking and the case against each one. The full table above carries the same numbers.

1

Grey

Mastercard (Virtual USD card); als · All-rounder · Ad spend

Why it ranks here: What puts Grey here is the shape of its fees rather than a headline number: the card costs $4 to create, the top-up is 0% and no FX markup is published. That suits a card that stays open and gets reloaded.

Ad platforms re-authorise whenever the spend threshold is crossed, which can be several times a week. A card that clears the first charge is only useful if it clears the tenth. Grey is documented for that pattern: Mastercard (Virtual USD card); als range, an ID and proof of address, and a top-up quoted at 0% (no funding fee).

What to watch: No per-transaction ceiling is published, so the limit has to be found by trying a charge. The range is issued through a programme rather than by a bank, so support runs through the programme.

Creation
$4
Monthly
Free
Top-up
0% (no funding fee)
FX
0% USD spend from USD
KYC
ID + proof
2

Geegpay

Visa · Mastercard (user selects) · General use

Why it ranks here: What puts Geegpay here is the shape of its fees rather than a headline number: the card costs $3 (one-time) to create and the top-up is 0.8%. That suits a card that stays open and gets reloaded.

This is a general-purpose range rather than a specialist one, so the case for it rests on fees and reliability across different merchants. Geegpay is documented for that pattern: Visa · Mastercard (user selects) range, an ID and proof of address, and a top-up quoted at 0.8% USD deposit.

What to watch: The monthly line (Not disclosed by issuer) runs whether or not you spend. The composite sits below the leaders, and the gap is in documented coverage rather than in price.

Creation
$3 (one-time)
Monthly
Not disclosed by issuer
Top-up
0.8% USD deposit
FX
Low market-linked FX
KYC
ID + proof
3

Timon Ace

Visa · Ad spend · AI subscriptions

Why it ranks here: Timon Ace scores 8.1/10 and clears the checks this market runs. In fee terms, the card costs $5 to create and the top-up is quoted at Not disclosed by issuer.

Ad platforms re-authorise whenever the spend threshold is crossed, which can be several times a week. A card that clears the first charge is only useful if it clears the tenth. Timon Ace is documented for that pattern: Visa range, an ID and proof of address, and a top-up quoted at Not disclosed by issuer.

What to watch: The range is issued through a programme rather than by a bank, so support runs through the programme. The composite sits below the leaders, and the gap is in documented coverage rather than in price.

Creation
$5
Monthly
Free
Top-up
Not disclosed by issuer
FX
2% + $0.50 per
KYC
ID + proof

What the checkout checks, in order

Five things decide the authorisation, in this order. Only the last one is about money, which is why topping up a card that failed on country or address does not help.

CheckWhat the merchant seesWhat it means for your card
Issuing country (BIN)The BIN carries an issuing country, and the checkout tests it against the country registered on the account before anything else.An NG card clears the region block that many merchants apply to foreign ranges, before the balance is even read.
Billing address (AVS)AVS compares what you type with the record attached to the card, which is not always your real address.The string has to match exactly: Nigerian addresses often have no reliable postcode, so issuers store the street and area and the gateway compares that string instead.
Authentication3-D Secure is used on international charges, and naira cards are challenged more often than dollar cards.A challenge that is abandoned or timed out is recorded as a decline, and the retry starts from a worse risk position.
Card typeThe range identifies the product as debit, credit or prepaid, and a growing number of billers accept only the first two.This is the one failure that is permanent for that card: the prefix decides it, not the balance.
Limit and balanceTwo numbers are checked: the remaining balance and the issuer's per-transaction ceiling, both after tax and holds.Leave 15–20% headroom, and raise the per-transaction cap before the first charge rather than after it fails.

What a year on these cards costs

One year of ordinary use, priced with the issuers' own numbers. The point of the table is that a cheap creation fee tells you almost nothing about the annual cost.

Cost lineGreyGeegpayTimon Ace
Creation fee$4$3 (one-time)$5
Monthly feeFreeNot disclosed by issuerFree
Top-up0% (no funding fee)0.8% USD depositNot disclosed by issuer
FX0% USD spend from USDLow market-linked FX2% + $0.50

Grey charges nothing to reload, so a year on the card costs the $4 creation fee once, plus whatever the FX line adds on charges that are not in dollars.

Fees are the issuers' own published terms, re-checked this pass. The worked example uses one card so the comparison stays honest across different fee shapes.

Filling the billing address (AVS)

The billing address on a card issued here is a data field, not a fact about you. What matters is that the string you enter at checkout is identical to the string the issuer holds.

Regulation, funding rails and the currency question

What sits behind every range on this page is the Central Bank of Nigeria. The issuers are CBN-licensed banks, mobile money operators and fintech issuers, so the practical question is who holds the permission, because that is who can freeze or restore an account.

Funding runs over NIP transfers and local wallet funding. In practice balances come from local transfer in naira, converted at the issuer's rate, or stablecoin funding on the crypto-native issuers, and the slower that route is, the more it costs to recover from a blocked card.

The advertised price is not the authorised amount, because VAT at 7.5% applies to digital services. Budget for the total, not the headline.

Currency is the quiet cost. These ranges settle in NGN, and a charge priced in another currency picks up the issuer's conversion before it ever reaches your statement. A naira card with a monthly international spend limit. The balance is there, the limit is not, and the decline looks like a funds problem.

53 of our 423 tracked ranges are Nigeria-issued; the cards behind them run on 39 Mastercard and 14 Visa.

How to pick one, in order

  1. Start with the country pair, not the price. Decide which country's billing address you can document, then pick a range from that country. A dollar-denominated virtual card is the practical way to pay international billers, because naira cards are limited by FX availability rather than by balance
  2. Match the card type to the merchant. Ad platforms and cloud billers are the strictest about prepaid ranges; subscription services care more about the country than the type.
  3. Add up the reload, not the creation fee. A card that costs $1 to open and 3% to reload costs more than a free one at 1% after NGN 1,000 of spend. The reload is the line that repeats.
  4. Check what the issuer publishes about FX. An unpublished FX markup is not zero. If the merchant bills in another currency, that becomes the largest line on the statement.
  5. Test on the smallest charge first. A $5 top-up or a low-value purchase tells you whether the country, address and authentication all pass before a renewal depends on it.
  6. Keep two ranges open. The issuers in Nigeria do not share infrastructure, so a merchant that refuses one range usually accepts another. A single card is a single point of failure.

Where these cards clear checkouts

Each guide below is built from the same record as this page. Where a Nigeria range is flagged as working, the merchant guide says so, and the two pages link to each other.

BIN ranges issued in Nigeria

Ranges are listed by prefix rather than by issuer, because the same issuer can hold several and they do not all behave the same way.

Want a different network or a specific prefix? Search the full set of 423 ranges:

Declines in Nigeria, decoded

Declines are diagnostic. Each of these points at a specific check from the table above, and three of the six are fixed without touching the balance.

MessageWhat it usually means hereWhat to do
Refused without a codeThe gateway rejected the authorisation before the issuer was asked. Country mismatch is the most common cause.Stop retrying. Check the country pair, then the address, then the balance, in that order.
Balance too lowThe merchant added tax and a hold to the plan price, so the request exceeded the balance.Top up above the expected total rather than to it.
Address mismatchThe billing address you typed does not match the string the issuer holds for that BIN.Copy it from the issuer dashboard; do not retype it from memory.
Challenge did not completeThe authentication step was abandoned, blocked or timed out.Allow popups, keep the issuer app open, and retry once from a clean session.
Unsupported cardThe range is prepaid, or issued in a country this checkout does not serve.Move to a different range; the card type is fixed at issuance.
Card on file expiredThe merchant is charging an old card number that no longer resolves.Add the current card, make it default, remove the old one.

Head to heads involving these cards

What changed in the November 2026 pass

Nothing here is carried over on trust: every fee row is re-read from the issuer's schedule, and ranges that stop clearing leave the table. What changed this month:

Questions we get asked

Grey is the strongest all-rounder among the 10 Nigeria-issued cards we track, at 8.9 out of 10, where the card costs $4 to create, the top-up is 0% and no FX markup is published. The table above is the full ranked set, ordered on fees, documented coverage and how much verification each issuer asks for.

Reload costs run from 0% to 1.5% across the table, and creation fees range from $1 to $5. The reload is the line that compounds: it is charged every time money goes on the card, while the creation fee is paid once.

Not necessarily local, but it has to be the issuer's. Nigerian addresses often have no reliable postcode, so issuers store the street and area and the gateway compares that string instead.

None of the 10 cards on this table is listed as no-KYC. Every issuer here asks for an identity document, which is also why the decline rate on document-checked ranges is lower.

Supervision comes from the Central Bank of Nigeria, and the practical answer is the one this page keeps returning to: check the issuing country and the address format before the balance. A dollar-denominated virtual card is the practical way to pay international billers, because naira cards are limited by FX availability rather than by balance.

Move to another range rather than retrying the same card. The ranges in this market do not share infrastructure, so a merchant that refuses one prefix often accepts the next one, and repeated attempts on a single BIN are what trigger issuer-side blocks.

Other country guides

All 23 country guides →

Fees, limits and terms quoted on this page are as published by the issuer and can change at any time — verify with the issuer before applying.