How to Pay for Poe with a Virtual Credit Card
Most cards that fail at Poe are not out of money. They fail a check the merchant runs before the charge: the billing country, the postal code, or a 3-D Secure challenge that never completes. Below is how that works for Poe, plus the cards whose published terms fit it.
Bleap is the closest fit on published terms (3-D Secure is documented, so a step-up challenge can finish instead of timing out). Bybit is the fallback if that issuer will not take you, and Fiat24 is the cheaper-to-fund option if you expect several charges a month.
Poe: what lands on the card, and when
Poe sells a single subscription that covers the bots on the platform, billed monthly or annually, with compute points resetting each cycle.
On the pricing page this is $19.99/mo. Whatever you budget, add a margin: the first authorisation is often a little above the headline price.
Why a card that works elsewhere fails here
Because one plan covers many models, usage is heavy and the platform is a repeat target for card testing; issuers therefore treat first charges from unfamiliar BINs cautiously. A card with a clean history clears more reliably than a brand-new one.
- The card's issuing country does not match the country on the account. The BIN gives it away before any charge is attempted.
- The billing address differs from the issuer's record by a house number or a ZIP digit, and AVS fails on the comparison.
- The issuer blocks the merchant category, or treats a recurring card-not-present charge as suspicious by default.
- The card cannot take a merchant-initiated renewal: it passes the first charge and fails the one four weeks later.
- The card expires before the next renewal date, and the merchant keeps trying the old number.
- The balance covers the headline amount but not that amount plus tax and a temporary hold.
The five checks the subscription checkout runs
| What is checked | How it works here | What to pick |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing country vs account country | The card's BIN country is compared with the region your account is registered in; a mismatch is refused before any charge. | A card whose billing country matches the account's region |
| 3-D Secure | A step-up challenge is issued on first use in most regions; a card that cannot complete it fails as a decline. | Documented 3-D Secure support, tested with a small charge first |
| Recurring authorisation | The renewal is merchant-initiated with no cardholder present. | An issuer that permits recurring card-not-present charges |
| Billing address / AVS | The postal code you type is checked against the issuer's records. | The address printed in the card dashboard, pasted not retyped |
| Currency and FX | The charge is in USD; a non-USD card converts at the issuer's rate. | A USD balance, or a card with a published FX markup under 2% |
Not every check runs on every attempt. Poe applies them in the order its processor decides, which is why the same card can pass one day and fail the next after an issuer-side change.
Three cards that fit this checkout
Chosen by the parameters that decide Poe — country matching, step-up support, recurring behaviour and the cost of keeping the card funded — not by the order they appear in a directory.
1. Bleap — 8.8/10
Bleap scores 8.8/10 in the catalogue and fits on the parameters that decide this checkout. In fee terms, no creation fee is published and the top-up is 0%, so the only cost is what you leave on the card.
Works for this checkout
- 3-D Secure is documented, so a step-up challenge can finish instead of timing out
- issuer records a billing address in EEA / LatAm
What it costs you
- full identity documents at signup
2. Bybit — 8.6/10
Bybit sits second of the three on fit for this checkout, with a catalogue rating of 8.6/10. On cost, no creation fee is published, and the top-up is quoted as 0.9% crypto conversion fee per transaction.
Works for this checkout
- 3-D Secure is documented, so a step-up challenge can finish instead of timing out
- a US billing address can be recorded against the card
What it costs you
- full identity documents at signup
3. Fiat24 — 8.8/10
Fiat24 sits third of the three on fit for this checkout, with a catalogue rating of 8.8/10. On cost, no creation fee is published, and the top-up is quoted as 1%.
Works for this checkout
- 3-D Secure is documented, so a step-up challenge can finish instead of timing out
- a US billing address can be recorded against the card
What it costs you
- ID required at signup, so not anonymous
- FX costs 1-1.5% on non-dollar charges
The shortlist, side by side
| # | Card / issuer | KYC | Creation fee | Top-up | FX | 3DS | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bleap | Yes | Free | 0% | 0% | 3DS | 8.8/10 |
| 2 | Bybit | Yes (KYC Level 2: govt ID + proof… | Free virtual | 0.9% crypto conversion fee per… | EEA 0.5% on top of Mastercard rate | 3DS | 8.6/10 |
| 3 | Fiat24 | Yes (18+, biometric ID + GPS +… | Free | 1% | 1-1.5% | 3DS | 8.8/10 |
| 4 | SwissBorg Card | Yes | $0 | 0% | No separate FX fee | 3DS | 9.5/10 |
| 5 | COCA | No (basic) / Yes (advanced) | Free virtual | 0% top-up | 0% | 3DS | 9.1/10 |
| 6 | Jupiter Global | Yes (full KYC via SumSub; ID +… | $0 | 0% | 0% USD spend | 3DS | 9.0/10 |
| 7 | Grey | Yes (KYC verification) | $4 (Mastercard) / $5 (Visa) one-time… | 0% | 0% USD spend from USD balance | 3DS | 8.7/10 |
| 8 | Nexo | Yes (Full KYC: ID + proof of… | 0 | 0 | 0.2% (EEA/UK weekday), 0.7% (EEA… | 3DS | 9.0/10 |
Every figure is the issuer's own published term, converted where necessary and re-checked monthly. Where a cell says “not disclosed”, the issuer does not publish it — that is different from zero.
What a year on this checkout costs
Modelled on $240 of charges over twelve months, using each issuer's published creation fee, monthly fee, top-up rate and FX markup. Merchant tax is excluded because it depends on your address.
| Card | Creation | Monthly fees | Top-up on $240 | FX on $240 | 12-month total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bleap | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Bybit | $0 | $0 | $2.16 | $1.20 | $3.36 |
| Fiat24 | $0 | $0 | $2.40 | $3.60 | $6 |
Percentages apply to the amount you move onto the card, so a card with a 3% top-up costs more than a card with a monthly fee when the annual spend is small. The total excludes anything the merchant adds in tax.
Paying Poe with a virtual card, step by step
- 1
Start from the billing country
Start with jurisdiction, not price. The card's country and the account's region have to agree before Poe will authorise anything, and that check happens before the balance is even considered.
- 2
Set the card up
Set a per-card limit slightly above the amount you expect. The limit is checked at authorisation, so a card capped at the list price fails as soon as the total grows.
- 3
Fund it with headroom
Fund above the charge rather than at it. Fifteen to twenty per cent headroom absorbs the monthly amount, tax and any temporary authorisation without a second top-up.
- 4
Enter the address from the dashboard
Use the issuer's address, character for character. AVS compares what you type with what the issuer holds, and a transposed digit fails the check.
- 5
Approve the step-up
A challenge that times out counts as a decline, and the retry starts from a worse risk position. Keep the issuer app or SMS route open before you submit.
- 6
Verify and pre-fund the renewal
Check the transaction in the issuer's app, then pre-fund the next charge. The renewal is the test that matters, not the first payment.
If it still fails
Work down this list in order. Each row is a different check, so changing the card before you know which one failed usually repeats the same decline on a new BIN.
| What you see | What it means here | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Card declined / generic decline | The processor refused the authorisation without naming a reason. On this checkout the usual cause is a country or address mismatch, not the balance. | Stop retrying. Re-check the billing country and the address before the next attempt; repeated failures raise the risk score. |
| Insufficient funds | The authorisation plus any hold is larger than the available balance — a $1 verification hold on top of the plan price is enough to cause this. | Leave 15–20% headroom above the charge, then retry once. |
| Incorrect ZIP / address mismatch | AVS compared the postal code with the issuer's records and they differ. | Paste the address from the card dashboard character for character; do not substitute your home address. |
| Authentication required | A 3-D Secure challenge was issued and did not complete — usually a blocked popup or an OTP that never arrived. | Disable popup blockers, retry in a private window, and make sure the card's phone or email is current. |
| Card not supported | The BIN is recognised as prepaid, or the issuing country is not accepted here. | Switch to a debit or credit BIN issued in an accepted country. |
| Payment method invalid after a change | The old card was removed or expired, and the merchant is still pointing at it. | Re-add the card and set it as default; on console stores wait 24 hours after too many changes. |
What a failed payment actually costs you
On a subscription checkout the plan drops back to the free tier at the end of the grace period, and the account keeps its history, so recovering is a matter of re-entering a card that works. The cost is the days without access plus any annual discount you lose by re-subscribing.
Weigh the fee against the failure, not against zero. The cheapest card on paper is often the one that needs the most attention at renewal.
Questions we get asked
Yes, if the card matches the account's country and can complete a step-up challenge. Bleap is the closest fit on published terms, with Bybit as the fallback. The failure people report is rarely a balance problem; it is a country or address check.
Because Poe runs its own checks before the charge: the card's issuing country against the account's region, the postal code against the issuer's records, and a 3-D Secure challenge where the region requires one. A card that works at a domestic merchant can still fail all three.
On a $19.99/mo plan, the cheapest is the one with the lowest top-up and FX load rather than the lowest creation fee. For Bleap, no creation fee is published and the top-up is 0%, so the only cost is what you leave on the card. Run the same spend through two issuers before deciding; the fee that dominates is usually the top-up.
Prepaid instruments are the first thing this kind of checkout screens out. Even when a prepaid card is accepted, it usually cannot take the renewal, so it buys one cycle rather than a subscription.
Usually not for the account's primary currency. The card's BIN country is compared with the account region, and a mismatch is refused before the charge. If you move country, change the account region first, then the card.
The plan usually stays active for a short grace period, then pauses. Poe retries once or twice, so a card that is topped up within a few days can recover the subscription without losing the term. Leaving a balance on the card is cheaper than re-subscribing.
Other ways to pay Poe
A virtual card is one path. These are the others, and each has a different failure mode.
- Annual subscription
- in-app purchase where the app offers it
- a card already used for other AI subscriptions
How the data on this page is built
Figures come from issuer pricing pages and published merchant-support lists, re-checked monthly. Where a term is unpublished, the table says “not disclosed” rather than filling the gap with an estimate. The full protocol is on the methodology page. The full protocol, including how declines are recorded, is on the methodology page.
Fees, limits and terms quoted on this page are as published by the issuer and can change at any time — verify with the issuer before applying.