Open the full card finder → · Or look up a BIN range →

10 issuers · 20 ranges documented · Last reviewed November 2026

Best UK virtual credit cards for international shopping

By Height Gao, VCCFinder Editorial Lead·Country guide: regulation, funding rails and decline patterns·About our methodology

10 issuers that put a card denominated in GBP in your hands, ranked on the fees you pay and the checks each one puts you through. 20 ranges back these entries, and every number below is the issuer's published term.

10issuers tracked
20ranges documented
0no-KYC options
4crypto-funded
Ranking order assumes you will keep the card funded for at least three months. If you only need one charge, the creation fee matters more than the top-up and the order changes.
Quick verdict

Crypto.com Card takes the top slot at 9.3/10. No creation fee is published, the top-up is quoted at Free crypto top-up to and no FX markup is published. Starling Bank is the fallback when a merchant refuses the first range, and it asks for an ID and proof of address at signup.

How UK issuance changes the checkout

Buying online from the UK with a card issued somewhere else works until it does not. The failure is rarely about money: it is the issuing country, the address format and the authentication step that decide it. SCA is enforced here, so the practical difference between two cards is how reliably the challenge completes, not the headline fee. The ranking below is built on those three things before price.

A GB BIN keeps UK merchants on the domestic flow, where the challenge is presented in English and the issuer is reachable in the same time zone. That is the practical case for a card matched to this market, and it is also why a lower rating can still outperform on a specific checkout.

Licensing sits with the Financial Conduct Authority, under e-money and payment institution permissions, and the issuers are FCA-authorised EMIs and banks, plus programme managers riding on a sponsor's permission. Verification depth follows from that, not from how strict a particular brand feels like being.

The 10 cards worth opening

Sort order is fixed: composite score first, then creation fee. Where two issuers tie on score, the one with the cheaper reload sits higher, because the reload is the fee you pay repeatedly.

#Card / IssuerKYCCard creation fee Monthly feeTop-up feeFX feeRating
1
Crypto.com Card
Visa AI subscriptions · Streaming
ID + proof Free (virtual) Free (Basic) Free crypto top-up to 0% FX on Plus/Pro/Private ★★★★★ 9.3/10 Get card
2
Starling Bank
Mastercard All-rounder · Ad spend
ID + proof Free Free Not disclosed by issuer 0% ★★★★★ 8.8/10 Get card
3
Curve
Mastercard (card aggregator) All-rounder · Ad spend
ID + proof Free Free (Curve Pay) N/A 0% within FX allowance ★★★★★ 8.5/10 Get card
4
Revolut
Visa · Mastercard All-rounder · Ad spend
ID only Free Free (Standard) Not disclosed by issuer 0.5% ★★★★★ 8.2/10 Get card
5
Chase UK
Visa (debit); also Chase credit ca All-rounder · Ad spend
ID + proof Free (instant virtual card Free N/A (debit from account) 0% ★★★★★ 8.0/10 Get card
6
Monzo
Mastercard (debit) All-rounder · Ad spend
ID + proof Free Free (standard) N/A (debit 0% (Mastercard rate ★★★★★ 7.7/10 Get card
7
Wirex
Visa · Mastercard (region-dependen Free issuance · Crypto funded
ID + proof Free (Classic virtual) Free (basic) Free crypto top-up 0% FX ★★★★★ 7.5/10 Get card
8
Capital on Tap
Visa (Business credit card; issued All-rounder · Ad spend
Business KYC Free (no card fee) Free (no annual fee) N/A (credit card) 0% FX fees (UK/EUR/USD) ★★★★★ 7.3/10 Get card
9
bunq
Mastercard App Store / Play
ID + proof Included in plan Free €0 / Core €3.99 / Not disclosed by issuer ~0.5% (ZeroFX) ★★★★★ 7.1/10 Get card
10
Cryptomus Card
Visa · Mastercard Ad spend · Crypto funded
ID + proof $4 varies by card type 3.2% (top-up) Not disclosed by issuer ★★★★★ 6.9/10 Get card

Methodology: 20 BIN ranges are documented for UK-issued cards on this page, drawn from each issuer's published terms and the network prefix assigned to it. The ranking above is a composite of published fees, KYC depth and documented coverage — see the methodology page for how every figure is sourced.

Top 3 in the UK

The three highest-scoring issuers, with the fee and verification rows behind the ranking and the case against each one. The full table above carries the same numbers.

1

Crypto.com Card

Visa · AI subscriptions · Streaming

Why it ranks here: Ranked on the terms that decide a GBP card rather than on brand recognition: Crypto.com Card at 9.3/10, where no creation fee is published, the top-up is quoted at Free crypto top-up to and no FX markup is published.

Subscription billers re-authorise on the same day every month and re-check the card country at each renewal, which is why a card that cleared once still fails in month two. Crypto.com Card is documented for that pattern: Visa range, an ID and proof of address, and a top-up quoted at Free crypto top-up to.

What to watch: The composite sits below the leaders, and the gap is in documented coverage rather than in price. The composite sits below the leaders, and the gap is in documented coverage rather than in price.

Creation
Free (virtual)
Monthly
Free (Basic)
Top-up
Free crypto top-up to
FX
0% FX on Plus/Pro/Private
KYC
ID + proof
2

Starling Bank

Mastercard · All-rounder · Ad spend

Why it ranks here: Starling Bank takes the second slot on fit for this market, at 8.8/10. On cost, no creation fee is published, the top-up is quoted at Not disclosed by issuer and no FX markup is published.

Ad accounts are charged in thresholds rather than on a calendar date, so the card has to survive repeated authorisations at amounts you do not choose. Starling Bank is documented for that pattern: Mastercard range, an ID and proof of address, and a top-up quoted at Not disclosed by issuer.

What to watch: The range is issued through a programme rather than by a bank, so support runs through the programme. The range is issued through a programme rather than by a bank, so support runs through the programme.

Creation
Free
Monthly
Free
Top-up
Not disclosed by issuer
FX
0%
KYC
ID + proof
3

Curve

Mastercard (card aggregator) · All-rounder · Ad spend

Why it ranks here: Curve takes the third slot on fit for this market, at 8.5/10. On cost, no creation fee is published and no FX markup is published.

The billing pattern here is a card kept on file and charged on delivery rather than on a renewal date, so what matters is stability across many small authorisations. Curve is documented for that pattern: Mastercard (card aggregator) range, an ID and proof of address, and a top-up quoted at N/A.

What to watch: The range is issued through a programme rather than by a bank, so support runs through the programme. No per-transaction ceiling is published, so the limit has to be found by trying a charge.

Creation
Free
Monthly
Free (Curve Pay)
Top-up
N/A
FX
0% within FX allowance
KYC
ID + proof

What the checkout checks, in order

Every decline in this market traces back to one of these five checks. They run before the merchant looks at your balance, so a well-funded card can still fail at step one.

CheckWhat the merchant seesWhat it means for your card
Issuing country (BIN)Every card number starts with a country prefix; the gateway reads it and stops if it disagrees with the account region.A UK range settles in the local currency and passes the merchant's country check, which is the first thing it runs.
Billing address (AVS)The gateway sends the street number and postal code to the issuer, and the issuer answers yes or no.Use the address the issuer generated, character for character: UK addresses verify on the postcode, and a flat number the issuer never stored is the usual mismatch.
AuthenticationStrong Customer Authentication is mandatory, so a 3-D Secure challenge is the norm rather than the exception.Abandoning the step-up prompt does not cancel the attempt, it fails it. The next try is scored against that failure.
Card typeDebit, credit and prepaid are distinguishable from the BIN, and some billers refuse prepaid outright.This is the one failure that is permanent for that card: the prefix decides it, not the balance.
Limit and balanceThe authorisation is tested against the card's limit and its balance, in that order, once the total is known.A limit set to the advertised price fails the moment tax is added, which is the usual avoidable decline here.

What a year on these cards costs

The same usage put through the three leaders, using the terms each issuer publishes. Fixed fees are paid once or monthly; the reload percentage is paid every time money goes on the card.

Cost lineCrypto.com CardStarling BankCurve
Creation feeFree (virtual)FreeFree
Monthly feeFree (Basic)FreeFree (Curve Pay)
Top-upFree crypto top-upNot disclosed by issuerN/A
FX0% FX on Plus/Pro/Private0%0% within FX allowance

Crypto.com Card does not publish a percentage for reloads, so the annual cost depends on the plan tier rather than on spend. That is the one case where a flat fee is easier to budget.

Where an issuer does not publish a fee the table says so. The arithmetic below skips that line rather than treating it as zero.

Filling the billing address (AVS)

AVS does not confirm that you live at the address. It confirms that the address you typed matches the one on the issuer's record, which is a different question and the one that causes most UK declines.

Regulation, funding rails and the currency question

Supervision comes from the Financial Conduct Authority, under e-money and payment institution permissions. The licence type matters more than the brand: FCA-authorised EMIs and banks, plus programme managers riding on a sponsor's permission. An issuer operating on someone else's permission inherits that partner's limits, which is why two cards with similar fees behave differently when a charge is disputed.

The rails are Faster Payments, with Open Banking top-ups from a UK bank account, with balances usually funded by Open Banking transfer or debit card top-up, with crypto funding on the specialist issuers. Speed here is a risk control, not a convenience.

The advertised price is not the authorised amount, because VAT at 20% is added to most digital services at checkout. Budget for the total, not the headline.

Currency is the quiet cost. These ranges settle in GBP, and a charge priced in another currency picks up the issuer's conversion before it ever reaches your statement. A challenge that times out. UK checkouts treat an abandoned 3-D Secure prompt as a decline, and the retry starts from a worse risk position.

20 of our 423 tracked ranges are UK-issued; the cards behind them run on 15 Mastercard and 5 Visa.

How to pick one, in order

  1. Start with the country pair, not the price. Decide which country's billing address you can document, then pick a range from that country. A GB BIN keeps UK merchants on the domestic flow, where the challenge is presented in English and the issuer is reachable in the same time zone
  2. Match the card type to the merchant. Ad platforms and cloud billers are the strictest about prepaid ranges; subscription services care more about the country than the type.
  3. Add up the reload, not the creation fee. A card that costs $1 to open and 3% to reload costs more than a free one at 1% after GBP 1,000 of spend. The reload is the line that repeats.
  4. Check what the issuer publishes about FX. An unpublished FX markup is not zero. If the merchant bills in another currency, that becomes the largest line on the statement.
  5. Test on the smallest charge first. A $5 top-up or a low-value purchase tells you whether the country, address and authentication all pass before a renewal depends on it.
  6. Keep two ranges open. The issuers in the UK do not share infrastructure, so a merchant that refuses one range usually accepts another. A single card is a single point of failure.

Where these cards clear checkouts

Each guide below is built from the same record as this page. Where a UK range is flagged as working, the merchant guide says so, and the two pages link to each other.

BIN ranges issued in the UK

Ranges are listed by prefix rather than by issuer, because the same issuer can hold several and they do not all behave the same way.

Want a different network or a specific prefix? Search the full set of 423 ranges:

Declines in the UK, decoded

Declines are diagnostic. Each of these points at a specific check from the table above, and three of the six are fixed without touching the balance.

MessageWhat it usually means hereWhat to do
Generic declineNo reason code came back, which in this market usually means the country pair failed rather than the balance.Fix country and address, then make one clean attempt instead of several.
Not enough fundsTax and a small verification hold pushed the total above the balance.Fund 15–20% above the charge and retry once.
ZIP or address mismatchAVS compared the numeric part of the address and the postal code, and one of them differed.Use the issuer's address exactly, not a reformatted version of it.
3-D Secure loopThe challenge either never appeared or timed out, and the attempt was logged as a decline.Disable popup blockers, retry in a private window, verify the card's phone or email.
Card not supportedThis range is prepaid or issued where the merchant does not accept cards from.Switch to a debit or credit range from an accepted country; a bigger balance will not help.
Saved card stopped workingThe card on file was replaced or expired and the merchant has not picked up the new details.Re-add it and delete the old record, then retry from a fresh checkout.

Head to heads involving these cards

What changed in the November 2026 pass

The guide is rebuilt from the documented record each pass, so the numbers move when an issuer reprices or a range stops clearing. This pass at a glance:

Questions we get asked

Crypto.com Card is the strongest all-rounder among the 10 UK-issued cards we track, at 9.3 out of 10, where no creation fee is published, the top-up is quoted at Free crypto top-up to and no FX markup is published. The table above is the full ranked set, ordered on fees, documented coverage and how much verification each issuer asks for.

Reload costs run from 3.2% to 3.2% across the table, and creation fees range from $4 to $4. The reload is the line that compounds: it is charged every time money goes on the card, while the creation fee is paid once.

What AVS checks is the issuer's record, not your residence. A challenge that times out. UK checkouts treat an abandoned 3-D Secure prompt as a decline, and the retry starts from a worse risk position.

None of the 10 cards on this table is listed as no-KYC. Every issuer here asks for an identity document, which is also why the decline rate on document-checked ranges is lower.

Supervision comes from the Financial Conduct Authority, under e-money and payment institution permissions, and the practical answer is the one this page keeps returning to: check the issuing country and the address format before the balance. A GB BIN keeps UK merchants on the domestic flow, where the challenge is presented in English and the issuer is reachable in the same time zone.

Switch prefixes instead of retrying. One refusal on a range is a signal about that range, and a second attempt on the same number is what turns it into an issuer-side block.

Other country guides

All 23 country guides →

Fees, limits and terms quoted on this page are as published by the issuer and can change at any time — verify with the issuer before applying.