Or browse the full BIN directory →

Last reviewed October 2026

Revolut vs Wise

Two virtual cards people weigh up side by side. We put Revolut and Wise on the same rows so the difference is easy to see.

8.6Revolut rating
7.3Wise rating
75shared test scenarios

Both issue on Visa · Mastercard; verification is ID only at Revolut versus ID + proof at Wise; only Revolut takes crypto top-ups.

Quick verdict

Revolut is the more cost-effective option for everyday spending and travel thanks to its free virtual cards, no monthly fee. Wise still clears the same checkouts in our tests, so match the table to the services you actually pay for.

RevolutBest for crypto users
Get Revolut Get Wise

The head to head

FieldRevolutWise
Card networkVisa, MastercardVisa / Mastercard
Card typeDigital Bank / NeobankRemittance / Cross-border
KYCID onlyID + proof
Card issuance feeFreeFree (virtual); physical card one-time fee
Monthly feeFree (Standard); Plus £3.99; Premium £7.99; Metal £14.99; Ultra £55 per moFree (no monthly fee)
Top-up feeNot disclosed by issuerNot disclosed by issuer
FX fee0.5%0.33%–0.7% (mid-market)
Crypto fundingYes—
AI tool supportChatGPT / Claude / Midjourney—
Risk levelLow-MediumMedium
Our rating8.67.3
User reviews80872
Best forAll-rounder · Ad spendStreaming · App Store / Play

A green left edge marks the side that holds the advantage on that row, where the data gives one.

Where they split

What sets them apart

Run the numbers against your own usage. Revolut runs free to create plus no top-up fee per top-up; Wise runs free plus no top-up fee. For one or two subscriptions the first column wins; for the rows where it leads in the table, the second does.

Questions people ask

That depends on what you spend on. Revolut scores 8.6/10 against Wise's 7.3/10 in our tests, but the two split on fees, KYC and crypto funding. Read the table above, then match it to the checkouts you actually run.

Revolut works out cheaper: no virtual card issuance fee, free account maintenance. Wise adds a 0.33% FX fee.

Revolut asks for ID only at signup; Wise asks for ID + proof. If a light sign-up is the priority, the one with the lower KYC label is the faster route.

Both show up in 75 of the same test scenarios, including Netflix, Spotify Premium, YouTube Premium. They overlap on a good share of checkouts, so the choice between them matters most on those pages. Where one is accepted and the other is not usually comes down to the billing country and 3-D Secure handling.

Where both show up

Revolut and Wise both landed in our top picks for 75 checkouts. Grouped by category so you can jump straight to the one you actually pay for:

Their BIN ranges

Cards issued in 🇬🇧 UK · 🇸🇬 Singapore — the country guides group every range we track from there.

What our charge log shows

Every count here is a real charge attempt we placed on that range, renewals included, with the gateway response recorded. Weeks tracked is how long the range has been in the programme:

CardBINNetworkAttemptsClearedRateWeeks tracked
Revolut510111Mastercard14110071%6
Wise228942Mastercard30421872%3

Other head to heads

Get Revolut Get Wise