Or browse the full BIN directory →

Last reviewed October 2026

Revolut vs Chime

Torn between Revolut and Chime? The comparison below is built from the same test data we use across the rest of the site.

8.6Revolut rating
8.6Chime rating
95shared test scenarios

Revolut issues on Visa · Mastercard and Chime on Visa; verification is ID only at Revolut versus ID + proof at Chime; only Revolut takes crypto top-ups.

Quick verdict

Revolut is the more cost-effective option for everyday spending and travel thanks to its free virtual cards, no monthly fee. Chime still clears the same checkouts in our tests, so match the table to the services you actually pay for.

RevolutBest for crypto users
Get Revolut Get Chime

The short version of the matchup

FieldRevolutChime
Card networkVisa, MastercardVisa
Card typeDigital Bank / NeobankDigital Bank / Neobank
KYCID onlyID + proof
Card issuance feeFreeFree
Monthly feeFree (Standard); Plus £3.99; Premium £7.99; Metal £14.99; Ultra £55 per moFree
Top-up feeNot disclosed by issuerNot disclosed by issuer
FX fee0.5%0%
Crypto fundingYesNo
AI tool supportChatGPT / Claude / MidjourneyChatGPT / Claude / Midjourney
Risk levelLow-MediumLow
Our rating8.68.6
User reviews80551
Best forAll-rounder · Ad spendAll-rounder · AI subscriptions

A green left edge marks the side that holds the advantage on that row, where the data gives one.

The head to head

Where they split

Revolut is the cheaper card to hold: free to create and no top-up fee, against free and no top-up fee at Chime. Chime earns its keep only if you need the rows where it leads in the table.

Questions people ask

That depends on what you spend on. Revolut scores 8.6/10 against Chime's 8.6/10 in our tests, but the two split on fees, KYC and crypto funding. Read the table above, then match it to the checkouts you actually run.

Revolut is the cheaper card to run. Both Revolut and Chime issue virtual cards for free.

Revolut asks for ID only at signup; Chime asks for ID + proof. If a light sign-up is the priority, the one with the lower KYC label is the faster route.

Both show up in 95 of the same test scenarios, including ChatGPT Plus, OpenAI API, Claude.ai. They overlap on a good share of checkouts, so the choice between them matters most on those pages. Where one is accepted and the other is not usually comes down to the billing country and 3-D Secure handling.

Where both show up

Revolut and Chime both landed in our top picks for 95 checkouts. Grouped by category so you can jump straight to the one you actually pay for:

Their BIN ranges

Cards issued in 🇬🇧 UK · 🇺🇸 US — the country guides group every range we track from there.

What our charge log shows

Every count here is a real charge attempt we placed on that range, renewals included, with the gateway response recorded. Weeks tracked is how long the range has been in the programme:

CardBINNetworkAttemptsClearedRateWeeks tracked
Revolut510111Mastercard14110071%6
Chime400012Visa17612772%11

Other head to heads

Get Revolut Get Chime